Update with Results and Photos:

We had a lot of fun today at the annual Friends of India tournament. Thanks go out to everyone who was able to come out for setup, to play, and clean up.

Special thanks to Manju Mullahalli from Friends of India (and my esteemed colleague at work!), for volunteering to operate the Zermelo software by registering players, processing entry fees, calling matches and entering results. No small feat! This was his first time using the software after a short demonstration last week.

Congratulations to Megha Nelluri for winning the Women's singles over finalist Angela Falco 3 games to 1. Both Megha and Anglea received trophies for their performance.

The two doubles events (Under and Over 3000) were combined into the Over 3000 because we had 5 teams registered to play.

The results of the giant round robin were that Scott Barone and Don Jackson all of their matches with a final record of 4-0. The toughest challenge they faced was from the 5th seeded team John Falco and Jeff Prat. John and Jeff took Scott and Don to 5 games but lost at 7 in the 5th!  Congratulations to Kedar and Manju for a solid performance, taking second place with a record of 3-1.

17 players signed up for Open Singles. The initial round robin consisted of 4 groups: 3 groups of 4 and 1 group of 5. The top 2 from each group advanced to the single elimination quarterfinal. Results of the round robin:

Group A winner: Scott Barone. Second place: Siva Soora

Group B winner: Mike Lauro. Second place: Jeff Pratt

Group C winner: Parimal Nilangekar. Second place: Kedar Jambhekar

Group D winner: Don Jackson. Second place: William Hall.

Scott, Mike, Parimal and Don advanced to semifinals, with Scott and Mike playing in the finals. Scott claimed the Open championship by defeating Mike 4-0: 13-11, 11-7, 14-12, 13-11.

Congratulations to the Group winners and runners up and to Scott for the overall singles championship.

LRTTC took in over $300 in entry fees, while Friends of India provided Subway lunch and drinks for all participants. This tournament is an important part of LRTTC's schedule. When added to our regular income from subscribers, daily play fees, coaching sessions, the tournament income keeps us over the $400 a month mark, enabling us to continue to meet our monthly rent.

We also provided some freebies. 5 randomly drawn participants won a set of paddle cleaning supplies: a rubber wiper and spray bottle. Winners are: Sam Bezold, Tanner Cook, Mugimane Manju, Scott Barone, and Jeff Pratt.

Thanks again to everyone who participated and especially to Friends of India for support of LRTTC and Arkansas table tennis.

The tournament results have been submitted and processed by RatingsCentral.com (which took about 1 minute!) and are available for viewing here: http://www.ratingscentral.com/EventSummary.php?EventID=15504

Photos are posted on the LRTTC's Facebook Group and on Flickr.



Welcome to the 2014 Annual Friends of India tournament hosted at LRTTC.

What:  Friends of India annual table tennis tournament

Where:  LRTTC playing facility at ICLR

When:  Saturday, September 20, 2014 from 8:00am - 5:00pm

Tournament web page: http://lrttc.org/play/monthly-lrttc-tournaments/239-foi-tournament-sept-20-2014

DEADLINE TO ENTER:  Friday, September 19, 2014, 5pm.

HOW TO ENTER:  Send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  Be sure to include the player names and events to play in.  To make things easy, entry fees should be paid on the day of tournament.  Only cash or checks will be accepted so please plan accordingly.  If you happen to pay before the tournament, that is fine, but this would likely be done in person.  Don't mail anything, just plan to pay on the day of the tournament.  Basically just come dressed to play, bring your paddle, and some cash or your checkbook.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE:  if you are only playing in the Open Singles, please show up at least 30 minutes prior to the start time to pay your entry fees and sign the waiver.  Although we'll try to be understanding with late arrivals, if your tardiness causes delays, you may be defaulted.  Basically, just show up on time and have fun!  Do the needful.

Player eligibility:  Anyone may play.

Not USATT Sanctioned:  This is tournament is not sanctioned by USATT, so USATT ratings will be unaffected.

RatingsCentral.com:  We will be submitting esults to RatingsCentral.com.  A superior alternative to the current USATT rating system, RatingsCentral.com provides free software to use in managing tournaments and they do not charge rating fees or sanction fees.  Results are typically processed on the same day they are submitted.  However, because we anticipate that most players who enter will not have a RC rating yet, we are using USATT ratings for the doubles events.

Food and Drinks:  Friends of India will be sponsoring food and drinks for players (Subway sandwiches, sports drinks), and trophies for prizes.


Open Singles Round Robin, $20 per person.  Current LRTTC Subscribers and FOI members receive $5 discount.

Women's Singles, $5 per person.

Junior Boys Singles, $5 per person.

Junior Girls Singles, $5 per person.

Over 3000 Doubles, $10 per team. (based on USATT rating)

Under 3000 Doubles, $10 per team. (based on USATT rating)

Novice Singles, $5 per person.  (Players must not have a USATT or RatingsCentral.com rating)

Format:  Based on number of entries and time allowed.  This is going to be a RELAXED tournament schedule, although everyone should make sure that the matches move along so that we can finish within a reasonable time.

Prizes.  Trophies provided by Friends of India.

Official Tournament Balls will be orange Nittaku 3-star Premium.  Players may play with other balls in a match if both payers agree.  LRTTC will not provide white balls.

Clothing:  Please wear shirts where the main color is not orange(ish). In addition, shirts and/or shirts with distracting designs are discouraged.

Games: Best 3 out of 5.

All USATT rules apply.

ICLR Code of Conduct applies to everyone using the facility. Please be familiar with these rules.

Certified Club Umpire:  Mike Lauro

UPDATED PLAYER LIST:  Current Player Entries:  (#) denotes doubles teams

Please note:  For this tournament, we are using USATT ratings for doubles events.  After we process a few more tournaments through RatingsCentral.com, we will begin using those ratings.  For now, use USATT.

 # Player Rating RC/USATT Singles O3000 Dbls U3000 Dbls Women Girls Boys Novice
1. Mike Lauro (U1) 1724±86/1970 $15.00     $5.00          
2. Jeff Pratt (U2) 1104±65/1329 $15.00    $5.00         
3. Mohan Reddy (U1) 915±62/1026 $15.00    $5.00          
4. Mark Taylor 500±75/700 $15.00            
5. Kedar Jambhekar (O1) 1462±64/1653 $15.00  $5.00          
6. Pramod Nelluri 807±91/1136 $15.00            
7. Megha Nelluri 119±122/502 $15.00     $5.00 $5.00    
8. Mugimane Manju (O1) 1298±67/1482 $15.00  $5.00           
9. William Hall 1629±84/1721 $15.00            
10. John Falco (U2) 1324±116/1571 $20.00   $5.00        
11. Siva Soora (O3) 1582±75/1782 $15.00 $5.00          
12. Scott Barone (O2) 1896±123/2049 $20.00 $5.00           
13. Parimal Nilangekar (O3) 1669±75/1869 $15.00 $5.00          
14. Don Jackson (O2) 1659±75/1859 $20.00 $5.00          
15. Sam Bezold 687±75/887 $15.00             
16. Chen Chen 1360±84/1560 $15.00            
17. Angela Falco 315±150/515 $20.00     $5.00      
18. Charlie Brooks 1067±65/1351 $15.00   Need Partner        
19. Tanner Cook 793±87/827 $15.00             
  Total Entries  17  17  3 teams  2 teams  2  1  0  
  Fees: $340.00   $275.00 $30.00  $20.00  $10.00 $5.00 $0.00