Update with Results and Photos:

Although we had 15+ people signed up for the tournament today, we had to deal with the late entries of Jack Frost and his doubles partner, Old Man Winter.  On Friday night, they blanketed the city and surrounding areas with inches of snow, making travel difficult.

However, we did have 6 players turn out for a Giant Round Robin.  The results mirrored the seedings, with Scott Barone taking the overall championship, Mike Lauro the runner-up, and William Hall third.

Congrats to the top 3 finishers (prize money)

  • 1st Place:  Scott Barone ($20)
  • 2nd Place: Mike Lauro ($10)
  • 3rd Place: William Hall

We finished the Giant Round Robin play at 11am.  By that time, we had 8 players total, so we quickly put together 4 double teams and held a 1 hour mini-tournament to prepare for Arkansas Closed.  The teams who participated in a semi-final, final, and consolation bracket were:

  1. William Hall / Mohan Reddy
  2. Pramod Nelluri / Shelby Barone
  3. Mike Lauro / Megha Nelluri
  4. Scott Barone / Mia Barone

Congrats to the champions Pramod and Shelby!  They defeated William and Mohan in the finals.  Scott and Mia won 3rd place by defeating Mike and Megha in the consolation bracket.

  • 1st Place:  Pramod / Shelby
  • 2nd Place:  William / Mohan
  • 3rd Place:  Scott / Mia
  • 4th Place:  Mike / Megha

The club took in $40 in entry fees, with $30 of it allocated to prize money.  Mike donated his prize money back to the club.  The club made a total of $20 from the tournament.

Next Saturday, February 15, is the Arkansas Closed / State Championships at UALR.

I recorded video of the singles final match between Scott and myself and saved a number of clips to YouTube for public viewing.  You might want to check out the Point of the Match clip, it was a blast!

Here is the embedded video, followed by photos of today's activity.


Tournament Photos, Sat February 8, 2014:


Welcome to the February 2014 monthly tournament hosted at LRTTC.

What:  LRTTC monthly Tournament; Warm up for Arkansas State Championships!

Where:  LRTTC playing facility at ICLR

When:  Saturday, February 8, 2014 from 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.


  • Phase 1:  Preliminary Round Robin.  9:00 am - 10:45 am.
  • Phase 2:  Final Round Robin. 11:00 am - 12:00 pm.

Phase 1:  3 Groups (A-C) of 5 Players.  Per Group:  2 tables, 5 rounds, 10 matches, 1 hour and 40 minutes.

  • Group A
  1. Scott Barone
  2. Siva Soora
  3. Charlie Brooks
  4. Mohan Reddy
  5. Megha Nelluri
  • Group B
  1. Jason Liem
  2. William Hall
  3. Pramod Nelluri
  4. Cody Shelton
  5. Mia Barone
  • Group C
  1. Mike Lauro
  2. Viful Mhapsekar
  3. Shelby Barone
  4. Fred Collins
  5. Sunil

All players advance to Phase 2.

Phase 2:  5 groups (A-E) of 3 Players.  Per Group:  1 table, 3 rounds, 3 matches, 1 hour.


Tournament web page:  http://lrttc.org/play/monthly-lrttc-tournaments/215-monthly-tournament-february-8-2014

DEADLINE TO ENTER:  Deadline to register is Friday February 7, 5:00 p.m.  No guarantees for entries received after this time. However we will try to accommodate all entry requests. 

Current Player Entries:

  Player Name Entry Fee Club Rating
1. Mike Lauro $5.00  1899
2. Charlie Brooks  $5.00   1426 
3. Scott Barone $10.00  1970 
4. Shelby Barone $10.00  1439
5. Mia Barone $5.00  1  
6. Pramod Nelluri $5.00  1236
7. William Hall $5.00  1758 
8. Mohan Reddy $5.00  1182
9. Viful Mhapsekar $5.00  1772 
10. Fred Collins $10.00  1228 
11. Megha Nelluri $5.00  467 
12. Sunil $5.00  UR 
13. Siva Soora $5.00  1607 
14. Jason Liem $10.00  1940 
15. Cody Shelton $10.00  746


HOW TO ENTER: send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., reply to this email, or send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Entry fee must be paid prior to or on the day of tournament.  Only cash or check will be accepted.  No debit/credit cards.  Alternatively, you may contact any of the LRTTC board:  Viful (President), Mohan (Vice President), Jeff (Secretary), Mike (Treasurer).

Player eligibility:  Arkansas residents only.

Entry Fee:  Entry fee is $5 for LRTTC current subscribers, $10 for everyone else.

Prizes: To be determined.

Official Tournament Balls:  Orange Nittaku 3-star Premium.  Players may play with other balls in a match if both payers agree.  LRTTC will not provide white balls.

Clothing:  Please wear shirts where the main color is not orange(ish). White shirts and/or shirts with distracting designs are discouraged.

League/Club Ratings:  AITTA league/club ratings will be used for seedings.  These ratings will be updated after the tournament.

Games: best 3 out of 5.

All USATT rules apply.

ICLR Code of Conduct applies to everyone using the facility. Please be familiar with these rules.

Certified Club Umpires:  Viful Mhapsekar, Mike Lauro

Entries will be updated in the website throughout the week. Results with player photos will be posted online after the tournament.

Registration and warm-up starts at 8:30 a.m.  Play will start promptly at 9:00 a.m. and end around 12:00 p.m.

The next monthly tournament will be the second Saturday in March.  The Arkansas State Championships will be held Saturday, February 15, 2014 at UALR. The format and prizes of our monthly tournaments vary.