Category: LRTTC Monthly Tournaments LRTTC Monthly Tournaments
Published: Sunday, January 04, 2015 Sunday, January 04, 2015
Updated on Saturday, January 17, 2015 Saturday, January 17, 2015

Today's tournament was the first of the new year, and LRTTC would like to wish everyone a very Happy New Year!

You can view the individual player results online at by following this link:  LRTTC Monthly Tournament - January 10, 2015.

You can see the results of the initial round robin group here:  Initial ABC Round Robin Results.  The final round robin groups can be viewed by clicking the corresponding links at the top of this article.

We had the largest number of entries than in any of our previous monthly tournaments.  Back in February 2014, 15 players competed.  And in our second monthly tournament back in July 2014, 14 players signed up.  So we are off to a great start in 2015 with the highest participation so far in our monthly tournaments.

It was great to see two young players, Mia Barone (age 9) and Pratyut Anand (10), play in the round robin format today.  Both of them advanced to the Group C final round robin made up of 6 players.  Congratulations to Pratyut! He came in third!.  First place in Group C went to Manju, and Megha took second place.  The Group C showdown of Manju and Mohan "The Defaulter" was a "no-showdown" primarily due to Mohan's skedaddling tactics.

The Barone Boys clinched the champions spotlight in both Group A, with Scott making quick work of Mike Lauro in 3 short games, and in Group B with Shelby taking down Jim Miller who was top seed in the group.  In Group A, Mike came in second by out-edging and out-netting Parimal 12-10 in the 5th game holler-fest (could they be any louder?).  The #2 spot in Group B went to Jim Miller and Jeff Pratt claimed the #3 position.

Honorable mention goes to Sangeetha Anand, Pratyut's mom.  She came with the rest of her family and was not planning on playing but was successfully coached into signing up by Mike.  Good thing, because she said they had a great time.  Before you know it, 4-year old Prithiv who is Pratyut's younger bother, will be joining the monthly competitive field.

Mark Taylor, the "Nickname Giver", was conspicuously absent today.  Something about work and family. ;)

The club took in $80 in entry fees, and gave out $30 in prize money, with $10 of it donated back to club.  Total income today is $60.

Total players:  16

Total matches played:  A lot

Total number of people tardy:  Too many (get here on time people!)

Total number of people who brought hot coffee and donuts for hard-working-tournament-director Mike Lauro:  Zero (get the hint!) 

Total number of photos taken: Zero.  (nobody got a smartphone?!)

Having another fun and successful tournament to start the new year:  Priceless!

Congratulations to the champions, thanks to all the players, and Happy New Year!

We missed our usual suspects:  Kedar, William, Ocko and Mark!

Stay tuned for a 2014 Year in Review report, and some exciting new announcements coming soon for 2015.

Yours truly, Team LRTTC


Welcome to the January 2015 monthly tournament hosted at LRTTC.

What:  LRTTC monthly Tournament

Where:  LRTTC playing facility at ICLR

When:  Saturday, January 10, 2015 from 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Format:  Singles Round Robin followed by Single Elimination.

Tournament web page:

DEADLINE TO ENTER:  Deadline to register is Friday January 9, 7:00 p.m.  No guarantees for entries received after this time. However we will try to accommodate all entry requests. 

Current Player Entries:  (Entries are updated periodically as they are received.)

   Player Name Entry Fee
1.  Mike Lauro  $5.00  1817±77
2.  Chinzo D.  $5.00  1118±100 (est.)
3.  Scott Barone  $10.00  1860±85
4.  Shelby Barone  $5.00  907±108
5.  Charlie Brooks  $5.00  1032±64 
6.  Jim Miller  $5.00  1633±48
7.  Parimal Nilangekar  $5.00  1670±74
8.  Mia Barone  FREE  100±100 (est.)
9.  Pratyut Anand  FREE  100±100 (est.)
10.  Mugimane Manju  $5.00  1220±75 
11.  Mohan Reddy  $5.00  949±61 
12.  Jeff Pratt  $5.00  1088±71
13.  Siva Soora  $5.00  1573±80
14.  Pramod Nelluri   $5.00  807±100 
15.  Megha Nelluri  $5.00  231±138 
16.  Sangeetha Anand  $5.00  100±100 (est.)
  Total Entry Fees  $80.00  


HOW TO ENTER: send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., reply to this email, or send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Entry fee must be paid prior to or on the day of tournament.  Only cash or check will be accepted.  No debit/credit cards.  Alternatively, you may contact any of the LRTTC board:  Mike Lauro, Mohan Reddy, Jeff Pratt, Mark Taylor.

Player eligibility:  Arkansas residents only.

Entry Fee:  Entry fee is $5 for LRTTC current subscribers, $10 for everyone else.

Schedule:  Registration and warm-up starts at 8:30 a.m.  Play will start promptly at 9:00 a.m. and end around 12:00 p.m.

Prizes: To be determined.

Official Tournament Balls:  Orange Nittaku 3-star Premium celluloid.  Players may play with other balls in a match if both payers agree.

Clothing:  Please wear shirts where the main color is not the color of the ball being used in a match. White shirts, orange shirts, and shirts with distracting designs are discouraged.

League/Club Ratings: ratings will be used for seedings.  These ratings will be updated after the tournament.

Games: Best 3 out of 5.

Rules:  All USATT rules apply.

Code of Conduct:  ICLR Code of Conduct applies to everyone using the facility. Please be familiar with these rules.

Certified Club Umpires:  Mike Lauro

Tournament Director: Mike Lauro

Tournament Software:  Zermelo (results submitted to

LRTTC Tournament History:  Events Sponsored by LRTTC.

Post-Tournament Report:  Tournament report with results and photos, if available, will be posted online after the tournament.

Next LRTTC monthly tournament:  Saturday, February 14, 2015.

Next Arkansas USATT-Sanctioned tournament:  Arkansas Closed will be held at UALR on Saturday, January 31, 2015.